Goettingen Day 5

Well, we are coming to the end of our trip.  In fact if I get a chance to post tomorrow, it will have to be from Frankfurt in the evening.  We leave Goettingen sometime between 1:15 and 3:15 PM tomorrow afternoon so that we can make our early morning flight on Wednesday.

Well, I went to get the broetchen again this morning.  I think I did a better job of communicating, but I am certainly the English speaker in a foreign land🙂.  The picture below is of the baeckerei to which I went every morning.  Not sure if we will get rolls for lunch tomorrow since our departure time is close to lunch.  I hope I taste that goodness one more time🙂.

The picture to the right is of the St. Albani Kirche, where the church service was held.  It is a beautiful building.

I also have some pictures of where I have been working the past week.  The stand up desk behind me was actually Alfred Rahlfs’.  I found it to be pretty neat.

Well, I will finish the CPA tomorrow.  Basically, I have Eccl. 12:1-2 to read through, and then I will be in a position to collate the the CPA of Eccl. to Gentry’s edition.  It has been an interesting exercise in methodology, since we have chosen to collate a daughter version to a nearly finished critical edition, rather than collating the daughter version to the collation book from the start.  I’m actually checking a previous collator as I work through the CPA, and I’m correcting some mistakes he made.  But I’m in a better position to do this because I’m collating the version to the edition, not to the collation book, which sometimes but not always agrees with Gentry’s lemma.  Thus, I start by comparing the CPA with Gentry’s reconstruction of the OG.  Most times the CPA agrees with this Version, but sometimes it does not.  When it does not, the CPA usually agrees with one of the variant readings and its place in the text history can be discerned clearly.  In a couple places, CPA agrees with the Syro-hexapla and these two witnesses are the only witnesses to a particular variant, which is interesting, since these are two Aramaic versions of the LXX.  This may indicate a genetic relationship, but with the Versions it is always difficult to prove these relationships.  Anyways, now I’m rambling on and on, and I need to get back to work.

I will also finish scanning and photographing mss. tonight and tomorrow.  I think I will sleep well tomorrow night🙂.

Leave a Reply

